Wednesday, November 17, 2010

BRMC on Gulf Of Mexico Oil Spill

by John D. Luerssen

Indie rock giants Phoenix, Vampire Weekend and the National are among the artists that have contributed music to an upcoming charity compilation that will assist in the Gulf of Mexico oil spill recovery effort. Titled ‘Gasoline Rainbows’ and due exclusively via iTunes on Nov. 30, the 14-track digital album will aid Global Green USA and also counts tracks donated by LCD Soundsystem, Silversun Pickups, the Black Keys, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Passion Pit and Surfer Blood.

The project was the idea of ‘One Tree Hill‘ stars Sophia Bush and Austin Nichols, who first visited Louisiana earlier this year to see the devastation that the oil spill caused. Named for a song penned by singer-songrwiter Amy Kuney specifically for the disc, ‘Gasoline Rainbows’ also boasts new songs from Damien Rice and City and Colour.

All of the artist and label proceeds from ‘Gasoline Rainbows’ will be used for Global Green’s oil spill response to directly assist the communities, people and ecosystems impacted by the Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill. Funds from the album will also be earmarked to educate the public, push for more regulation to prevent future environmental tragedies and advocate for a greener, cleaner economy.

The tracklist for the album is below:

1. ‘Gasoline Rainbows’ — Amy Kuney
2. ‘Armistice’ — Phoenix
3. ’40 Day Dream’ — Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros
4. ‘There’s No Secret’s This Year’ — Silversun Pickups
5. ‘At the Birds Foot’ — City and Colour
6. ‘The Connoisseur of Great Excuse’ — Damien Rice
7. ‘Bloodbuzz Ohio’ — The National
8. ‘Tighten Up’ — The Black Keys
9. ‘Let the Time Roll By’ — Onward, Soldiers
10. ‘Moth’s Wings’ — Passion Pit
11. ‘Floating Vibes’ — Surfer Blood
12. ‘Mama Taught Me Better’ — Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
13. ‘I Can Change’ — LCD Soundsystem
14. ‘Cousins’ — Vampire Weekend